6452g_juanes__bose_tanon_omar
I too would have preferred it to be a Concert for Freedom, out of all the priorities, but if peace is understood as synonymous with reconciliation among the Cuban family, then I agree with Juanes in the name chosen for his performance in Havana.

Reconciliation not only among the most visible polarities: victims and victimizers of one group or another, but also among those who stopped speaking due to political differences, among those who were consumed by the suspicion that the other was from the CIA or the G-2, opportunist for hire or mercenary without conscience. It will be difficult, but essential, because if the foundations are not laid with the material that peace and reconciliation provide, freedom will end up being a rabid dog that will bite us all.

We already had, in 1959, what was called “The Year of Liberation” with those revolutionary courts passing sentences of death to be carried out immediately. I remember myself, just twelve years old, shouting “To the wall! To the wall! To the wall!” Yes, I know it wasn’t my fault, but it took too long for me to be horrified by it.

The Plaza was full, not only of people, but also of ways of thinking, of tendencies and beliefs. No one can divide an entire nation into two groups. Let’s see, you who are reading me, into which sack do you want to be thrown? In with those who blew up a plane in which our fencing team was traveling, or in the one with those who sank the tugboat filled with innocents on March 13th? In the sack with those who hung the literacy campaigner Manuel Ascunce, or in that of those who ordered the shooting down of two unarmed planes? The people I saw in the plaza this past Sunday did not fit in any. The young people who sang along had their eyes on the future, not to say it was a chorus of angels, but I will not demonize them as “accomplices of the dictatorship.”

That we Cubans might be a single family is a beautiful and necessary purpose, whether you like it or not.