A new graffiti is present on Havana’s walls. In large italic letters its author writes the word, “Sixth,” at times finishing it with a star, other times accompanying the text with the image of a face. It reminds me of “Chori,” the pioneer of Cuban graffiti who almost never left a wall in Havana without his signature in white chalk back in the ‘60s, and they tell me he did it even earlier.

Is it a proper name, or maybe the name of a hip hop group which in my profound musical ignorance I don’t know?

A retiree whom I greet on occasion in the newspaper line asked me if this poster could be some propaganda about the sixth Communist Party Congress, in the style of that campaign invented by Robertico Robaina in the years when he was the first secretary of the Young Communists Union. Remember? 31st and Palante and that what’s-his-face comandante, whoever. But it doesn’t seem that Julio Martínez, the most insipid youth leader in the history of Cuba, would have taken the initiative.

Who knows? Maybe it’s the sixth child of a marriage, or one of the military’s demobilized who’s celebrating his discharge remembering his unit’s number, or a sex maniac with bad spelling, I won’t even discard my retired friend’s hypothesis that it is a militant communist who in this way is remembering the leaders of his party who are now about to celebrate said Congress.

